When Your Life Ceases To Be Interesting

Leaving Your Twenties And Entering Mid-Life Gracefully Does Not Have To Be The End Of The World

Sophie Lucido Johnson
13 min readJul 9, 2023

In my twenties, my life was full of stories filled with twists and turns; sparkles; peaks and valleys. The stories in my mind take this shape:

That’s right: The shape of a magnificent crystal with countless sides and edges and corners and (I’ll say it again because I’m not sure you heard me the first time) sparkles. You want an example*, and I get that. So here’s the story of how I met and started dating a man I’m going to call Boris. Come along with me on this crystal-shaped journey, won’t you?

Exactly three people had told me that I was destined to date Boris. We were both special education teachers, we both did comedy, we both wore glasses, and we had remarkably similar personalities. So when I finally met Boris at a party, I understood we were supposed to date, and so did he. The only thing I remember from the night we met was that I was wearing amazing salmon-toned silk shorts, and that I got six mosquito bites in the shape of a constellation on my ankle. I wish I could remember even one single thing about meeting Boris, but alas, I can only remember thinking, “I’m glad I met Boris on the night that I wore these hot silk shorts, because I look great; unless he…

--

--